THE OUTSIDER by Anthony Franze

March 29, 2017

Click to purchase

Anthony Franze debut novel, The Advocate’s Daughter, was so good that it made my best books of 2016 list. I always worry about the so-called “sophomore slump” – writers generally have years to work on their first novel and a much, much tighter timeline for the second. I’m happy to report that The Outsider is a terrific legal thriller as well. And with the Supreme Court in the news, it’s also timely.

Franze is an attorney who has argued before the Supreme Court, and that’s where he sets his thrillers. He offers a wonderful backstage tour of our highest court, complete with notes at the end so you know what is true and what is made up. Plus his stories are riveting, as is the case here.

The “outsider” is Grayson Hernandez, a young man who graduated from a non-Ivy League law school and is working as a messenger in the Supreme Court building. Hernandez grew up in a poor part of D.C., and his best friends really related with S.E. Hinton’s Outsider. In fact, Hernandez’s nickname was Pony Boy.

The day he stumbles onto an assault against the Chief Justice in the parking lot changes his life – in more ways than is at first obvious. Hernandez saves the Chief Justice but the attacker escapes. Shaken, the Chief Justice decides to offer Hernandez a clerkship, the most sought after position for law school graduates.

Most, if not all, the clerks are from top tier law schools, the brightest of the brightest. Hernandez is bright, but had to stay home to help run his family business so those opportunities didn’t come his way. And then the Justice offers him some perks along with the job; his apartment in Georgetown, which comes with a new Audi. Hernandez is overwhelmed but the justice convinces him to accept the offer.

Hernandez loves his new job, discussing law with these brilliant scholars and the smartest one of all, the beautiful Lauren Hart. He has a hard time fitting in, of course, but the Justice offers advice from time to time and eventually he finds his place.

Meanwhile, it appears a serial killer is at work in the D.C. area, and the murder sites all have one thing in common; a feather quill pen, a gift that the justices present to all attorneys who come before them, is found at all the crime scenes. Hernandez is approached by the FBI to help, and he quickly gets in over his head.

There are enough plot twists to keep the pages turning and the suspense just keeps ratcheting up until the final denouement. If you’re a fan of legal thrillers, or just fast paced adrenaline reads, you won’t want to miss this one.

3/17 Stacy Alesi, AKA the BookBitch™

THE OUTSIDER by Anthony Franze. Minotaur Books (March 21, 2017). ISBN 978-1250071668. 320p.

Kindle


DAMAGED by Lisa Scottoline

September 5, 2016
Click to purchase

Click to purchase

A Rosato & DiNunzio Novel, Book 4

This is the fourth entry into the rebranded Rosata & DiNunzio series, and the story focuses on Mary DiNunzio.

Her wedding to Anthony is just weeks away when a heartbreaking case drops into her lap. A janitor is suing Patrick O’Brien, a ten-year-old boy who is small for his age, severely dyslexic, and suffering from anxiety disorder. His grandfather, his guardian, hires Mary to put on his defense.

Opposing counsel is the reviled Nick Machiavelli, who is trying his damnedest to live up to his namesake. The boy is accused of coming after the janitor with scissors, but it quickly becomes apparent that the janitor has abused the boy.

When his grandfather dies of an insulin overdose, Patrick is the prime suspect. Mary wants to foster the boy but Anthony is in California, and neither of them is consulting the other about major life changes, which does not bode well for the couple.

Scottoline seems to be merging her family driven standalones with her legal series, and doing a fine job of it. She continues to be one of my go-to authors, I just love all her books.

Copyright ©2016 Booklist, a division of the American Library Association.

9/16 Stacy Alesi, AKA the BookBitch™

DAMAGED by Lisa Scottoline. St. Martin’s Press; First Edition edition (August 16, 2016).  ISBN 978-1250099624. 416p.

Kindle


NOBLE CHASE by Michael Rudolph

April 19, 2016

NOBLE CHASE

Beth Swahn has won her first big settlement for her client, Sloane, to the tune of over a hundred-million-dollars. But when Sloane’s boss, C.J. Leung, flies in from China to take her out to celebrate, she realizes that something is very wrong. He is under the impression that the settlement was just $30 million dollars.

Sloane has disappeared along with his banker girlfriend and the rest of the money. After a frantic Mayday call, both are presumed dead when their yacht supposedly sinks.

Furious and embarrassed, Beth is determined to find the money, and ends up working with Sloane’s son but isn’t at all sure he can be trusted, despite their mutual attraction. Meanwhile the law firm may be on the hook for the money, but Leung seems more interested in getting his files than in the money.

International money laundering, corruption, violence and a horrific tropical storm all combine to make this a breathless race to the finish line – and the money. Readers who enjoy John Grisham and Scott Turow will be satisfied.

Copyright ©2016 Booklist, a division of the American Library Association.

04/16 Stacy Alesi, AKA the BookBitch™

NOBLE CHASE by Michael Rudolph. Ballantine Books (April 19, 2016). ISBN 978-1101884379. 320p.

Kindle


THE ADVOCATE’S DAUGHTER by Anthony Franze

April 12, 2016
Click to purchase

Click to purchase

I  haven’t read a legal thriller this good in a long time.

Sean Serrat is a lawyer in Washington D.C. who has just moved from the public sector, where he argued several cases in front of the Supreme Court, to the private sector. His wife thinks he is a workaholic and moving to an office where he has a staff to do things for him should make their home life somewhat easier. At least until his name gets put on the short list for an opening on the Supreme Court itself.

The Serrats have three children, and their eldest, Abby, is a shining star almost ready to graduate law school, following in her parents’ footsteps. Sean’s wife gave up her career to be a stay at home mom, and she still is there for their teenage son Ryan as well as their youngest.

Then Abby goes missing and her body is found in the Supreme Court library. Her boyfriend, Malik Montgomery is a law clerk at the court and of course is the first suspect. When the cops find some evidence that points his way, he is arrested but Sean isn’t so sure he is the murderer. This adds another layer to the novel as his arrest brings in racial overtones to the case.

There are a lot of variables in this story and the pacing is relentless, making this an all nighter for me. The characters are well developed and the family scenes especially rang true. And I loved all the details about the Supreme Court, a place most of us don’t know much about (and be sure to read the notes at the end, but only after you read the book!)

This book put me in mind of The Tenth Justice by Brad Meltzer, his first book and still one of my favorite legal thrillers ever. Franze is in excellent company here and I look forward to more from this author.

3/16 Stacy Alesi, AKA the BookBitch™

THE ADVOCATE’S DAUGHTER by Anthony Franze. Minotaur Books (March 22, 2016).  ISBN 978-1250071651.  320p.

Kindle

Audio CD


COLD BARREL ZERO by Matthew Quirk

April 9, 2016
Click to purchase

Click to purchase

A rapid fire novel about the military and two men posed against each other in a conflict generated by events in combat. John Hayes and Thomas Byrne were together in combat and were as close as men can be when allied in battling the enemy.

 

Byrne was a medic while Hayes was a Special Operations leader. Thomas Byrne left the unit in order to become a doctor and succeeded in doing so leaving the combat role. In the meanwhile, John Hayes seemingly betrayed the men under him causing their deaths during a deep cover operation. Disgraced and on the run from authorities, Hayes is determined to return to the United States and get back to his wife and daughter. He also wants to take revenge against those people that have caused him to be labeled “traitor.”

Due to the past friendship and close contact with Hayes, Thomas Byrne is called back into service as a means of finding and capturing him. John and a squad loyal to him are responsible for a series of attacks aimed at the people that have accused him of being a traitor. The events move rapidly as Thomas Byrne goes after his former friend.

Quirk creates a story that twists and turns in its progress towards a powerful conclusion. This is certainly an all nighter, and succeeds in capturing the reader right at the start. Very well done and certainly a novel that will cause anyone reading it to look for the next Quirk book.

4/16 Paul Lane

COLD BARREL ZERO by Matthew Quirk. Mulholland Books (March 29, 2016).  ISBN 978-0316259217.  384p.

Kindle

Book on CD

Audible


GONE AGAIN by James Grippando

March 3, 2016
Click to purchase

Click to purchase

In an afterward, Grippando, the creator of Jack Swyteck, an attorney practicing in Florida, indicates that he is sending Jack back into his literary roots. This is exactly what is done as Swyteck becomes involved with defending a prisoner on death row as he did in the first novel introducing him, The Pardon.

A young girl named Sashi Burgette disappeared on her way to school three previously. While a body was never found, an ex-con named Dylan Kyle was stopped for drunken driving shortly after the disappearance was reported. An article of Sashi’s clothing was found in his vehicle and a police video of Kyle’s drunken explanation of events provided enough circumstantial evidence for a jury to convict him of murder.

A few days prior to Kyle’s execution, Sashi’s mother visits Swyteck, who is doing pro bono work at the Freedom Institute and blurts out that she received a phone call from her daughter,indicating that she is still alive. Jack, in the interest of justice being served, jumps into the case in spite of the police indicating the call is a hoax, the death warrant already signed by the governor of Florida, and the state attorney declaring that the case is closed.

Grippando proceeds to grab the reader with twists and turns of the story that seemingly complicate events beyond any readily visible solution. And, at the same time Jack’s wife, Andie Henning, is about to have a baby. Andie works for the FBI normally doing undercover work. While still able to handle work prior to going on maternity leave, Andie discovers some details related to the crime Jack is working on.  She is not able to pass the information onto Jack due to constraints placed on what she can divulge, but does manage to provide some help to her husband.

The book is by any definition an all nighter as are the previous novels in the Swyteck series and certainly motivates readers to seek out the next in this series.

3/16 Paul Lane

GONE AGAIN by James Grippando. Harper (March 1, 2016).  ISBN 978-0062368706.  400p.