Several Outlandish Reviews

The Outlandish Companion: Companion to Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, and Drums of Autumn.  In Which Much is Revealed Regarding Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, and Drums of Autumn (and Their Author), Including Detailed Synopses, Commentary, Controversy, Glossaries, Bibliographies, and Genealogies, TV Shows, and Other Useful Information.


The Outlandish Companion Volume Two: The Companion to The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, An Echo in the Bone, and Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. In Which Much More is Revealed Regarding The Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, An Echo in the Bone, and Written in My Own Heart’s Blood, Including Detailed Synopses, Maps, Medical Procedures, Chronologies and Highly Opinionated Essays by the Author.

Outlander Season One

Click to purchase

I had the first one, so I was thrilled to learn that the original Outlandish Companion has been revised and updated. If you are a fan of the books, or the Starz TV series, and like me, both (!) then you need to buy these books. There is a ton of information and I have to say, I enjoy every page. But then again, I’m slightly obsessed.

I’ve read all the books more than once. I’ve also listened to the audio books, which I highly recommend. The reader, Davina Porter, is fantastic. Listening to a good audio book narrator truly enhances the book, and I got that with Jim Dale and the Harry Potter books. I am happy to say that Porter also does that, and I enjoyed listening almost more than reading them myself. To hear all the names pronounced correctly, and hear the Gaelic the way it actually sounds instead of how it sounds in my head, is a gift.

Click to purchase

Click to purchase

Finally, I wanted to mention that there is now a beautiful Outlander Coloring Book! For all you adult coloring fiends, break out your colored pencils and get busy.

Book 1:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Diana Gabaldon has captivated millions of readers with her critically acclaimed Outlander novels, the inspiration for the Starz original series. From the moment Claire Randall stepped through a standing stone circle and was thrown back in time to the year 1743—and into a world that threatens life, limb, loyalty, heart, soul, and everything else Claire has—readers have been hungry to know everything about this world and its inhabitants, particularly a Scottish soldier named Jamie Fraser.
In this beautifully illustrated compendium of all things Outlandish, Gabaldon covers the first four novels of the main series, including:

• full synopses of Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber, Voyager, and Drums of Autumn
• a complete listing of the characters (fictional and historical) in the first four novels in the series, as well as family trees and genealogical notes
• a comprehensive glossary and pronunciation guide to Gaelic terms and usage
• The Gabaldon Theory of Time Travel, explained
• frequently asked questions to the author and her (sometimes surprising) answers
• an annotated bibliography
• essays about medicine and magic in the eighteenth century, researching historical fiction, creating characters, and more
• professionally cast horoscopes for Jamie and Claire
• the making of the TV series: how we got there from here, and what happened next (including “My Brief Career as a TV Actor”)
• behind-the-scenes photos from the Outlander TV series set

For anyone who wants to spend more time with the Outlander characters and the world they inhabit, Diana Gabaldon here opens a door through the standing stones and offers a guided tour of what lies within.

Book 2:

More than a decade ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Diana Gabaldon delighted her legions of fans with The Outlandish Companion, an indispensable guide to all the Outlander books at the time. But that edition was just a taste of things to come. Since that publication, there have been four more Outlander novels, a side series, assorted novellas, and one smash-hit Starz original television series. Now Gabaldon serves up The Outlandish Companion, Volume Two, an all-new guide to the latest books in the series.

Written with Gabaldon’s signature wit and intelligence, this compendium is bursting with generous commentary and juicy insider details, including

• a complete chronology of the series thus far
• full synopses of A Fiery Cross, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, An Echo in the Bone, andWritten in My Own Heart’s Blood
• recaps of the Lord John Grey novels: Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, and The Scottish Prisoner
• a who’s who of the cast of Outlander characters, cross-referenced by book
• detailed maps and floor plans
• a bibliographic guide to research sources
• essays on subjects as wide ranging as Outlandish controversies regarding sex and violence, the unique responsibilities of a writer of historical fiction, and Gabaldon’s writing process
• a guided tour of the clothes, food, and music of the eighteenth century
• a Scottish glossary and pronunciation guide
• personal photos from the author taken on the set of the Starz Outlander series

As entertaining, sweeping, and addictive as the series itself, this second volume of The Outlandish Companion is a one (or two)-of-a-kind gift from an incomparable author.


One Response to THE OUTLANDISH COMPANION by Diana Gabaldon

  1. […] The Outlander series is superb and probably tops the list of books I would take to a desert island. They encompass action, adventure, time travel, history and one of the greatest romances of all time (see my review of the audio version of Outlander, and my review of the Outlandish Companions.) […]

%d bloggers like this: