SUMMER AT FIREFLY BEACH by Jenny Hale

From the publisher:

Fans of Susan Mallery, Jill Shalvis, and the Netflix hit series Virgin River will love this unforgettable summer romance about family, friendship, and the magic of finding true love from the USA Today bestselling author of The Summer House! 

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical childhood memories, feels like coming home. But when her adored aunt passes away, Hallie is left brokenhearted—until she discovers Aunt Clara’s last letter and her final wish. 

Hallie is astonished to find the bucket list she wrote as a young teenager and reluctant to step away from her adult responsibilities to fulfill her youthful dreams. But to honor her beloved aunt, Hallie agrees to embrace Clara’s last words and abandon her predicable schedule for the summer.

As she spends sun-filled days at Firefly Beach, Hallie begins to remember the things that matter most to her. Best of all, her childhood friend Ben Murray is there, supporting her every step of the way. But when a run-in with wealthy newcomer Gavin leaves her questioning her future, Hallie is forced to face the truths buried deep in her heart. Can Hallie complete the bucket list and change her life? Or will the secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and her second chance at love?


I don’t know how I missed her, but I haven’t read Jenny Hale before and she has a lot of books! But better late than never, I suppose.

This is a sweet romance with interesting characters and the friends-to-lovers trope that I always enjoy. When Hallie’s favorite aunt passes away, she leaves letters and inheritances for each of her relatives, except Hallie. Instead, Hallie gets a note telling her to complete her “bucket list”, a list she wrote as a child. What does Hallie’s aunt know that Hallie doesn’t? Apparently quite a bit.

This is a family story as well as a romance, and love abounds. It has the feel of a Debbie Macomber book, so if that is your jam, enjoy.

This is a very emotional read; there are parts that made me cry, but more parts that made me laugh. Hale does a very good job with plot and characters, and that isn’t always easy to do. If you are looking for a good beach read, look no further.

SUMMER AT FIREFLY BEACH by Jenny Hale. Forever (May 25, 2021). ISBN: 978-1538718896 320 pages.

Kindle

Audible

 

 

 

 

I'd love to hear your comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: